After 3 years of retirement, what I have learned

When I retired, I expected to be able to be much more honest and transparent about the issues related to civil service and working in the federal government.

What has happened over the last three years?  I have learned that Congress still has influence/impact on my retirement benefits.  Congress can change how my annual retirement income is assessed.  Congress can also determine the value of the funds remaining in my Thrift Savings Plan.  In the news…

As we all  know if we are truly honest, our Congress has no problem with wielding a hefty sword of humility. It would not be called vengeance for the sake of the media.

Congress still has an unprecedented control and authority over all federal employees even after they leave federal service.

Now that I have found this to be the case, how can any former federal employee be forthcoming about the ills of federal service without any fear of retribution, ever?

It is even worse now.

How can you ever know the truth?  How can you ever know if you get what you pay for as long as those in Congress and the White House are more than willing to use civil servants as their excuse for the problems of this country?

You will never know until you demand the truth.  Trust me.  Most civil servants work hard every day for the tax dollars that pay for their very existence.  How do I know this?  I was a federal employee, now retired.  I paid and still pay a whole lot of federal income taxes for the existence of many agencies that I will never work for nor understand.

As a responsible citizen, I am simply supposed to hold my Congressional Representatives responsible as the ultimate supervisors of federal employees and I also hold the federal agencies and their employees responsible for doing what they were established to do.

Trust me.  You get no good service for free.  As Congress continues to squeeze the federal government and its employees of every dime that it wishes, something has to give. What gives?  Service.  Just ask the IRS employees.  How much does it take to squeeze an entity so much over several years that can make it completely dysfunctional?  Sounds like an old joke doesn’t it?

Oh and it makes it even better when your Congressional leadership reduces your budget and never tells you what they expect you to stop doing nor what they expect you to continue to do.  Makes Congress free of of all responsibility, doesn’t it?

Congress can feel free to ask why did you decide to not do that thing (whatever that is) any more when we did not tell you to stop doing that thing.  If Congress never tells federal agencies what they want them to do as their budgets decline, how will federal agencies know what to do or not do?

Do you think directors of federal agencies can read minds?  Think about it.  This time. Really think about it.

Your thoughts.

About djaubey

I am a proud thirty-year federal employee and civil servant. Now retired. As a creative writer (both traditional and innovative), I provide a fresh perspective with a sound foundation in all my work. I am a researcher, writer and speaker with a love of the written word and in search of the truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

