What now?

In the news here lately are people complaining about their inability to get timely help from the Internal Revenue Service.  Really?  What did they think would happen when the IRS budget was cut dramatically by our Congress?

Budget cuts mean staff cuts, which ultimately means service cuts.  This is basic logic.

And by the way, these same folks are saying that maybe now the IRS will do fewer audits. I am hearing that this is not so.  IRS has systems in place that automatically review tax submissions.  Sometimes, you don’t need people if you have effective computer technology.

What now?  I don’t know.  Should Congress cut the IRS budget even further so their automated systems become worn and so outdated that even they don’t work?  Please consider this.  Our country does not run on air.  Our country is managed through our tax payer dollars. Nothing is free.

I would much rather have a person on the phone who knows tax laws who is easily accessible to me so I don’t have to rely so much on private tax preparers.  I’d rather know that I submitted my tax forms right the first time than to hear about it in an audit later.

Another thought.  How about all tax payers paying their fair share.  No loop holes.  No special status.  Even  the really wealthy ones.  Wow. What a novel idea. However, I am close to taking the word ‘fair’ out of the U.S. dictionary in my conversations, at least.

I throw this in for free.  “Trickle-Down Economics” does not work for ‘regular people’. Money does not ‘trickle down.’ I know this from experience.

Definition – http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/trickle-down%20theory

What about you?  What do you think?

About djaubey

I am a proud thirty-year federal employee and civil servant. Now retired. As a creative writer (both traditional and innovative), I provide a fresh perspective with a sound foundation in all my work. I am a researcher, writer and speaker with a love of the written word and in search of the truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What now?

  1. The Scone Man says:

    Another timely piece. Couldn’t agree with you more. Yes, when Congress cuts the IRS’ budget the logical next steps include staff reduction and loss in services. This should actually make people happy–especially those who want to abolish the IRS and want to keep all the money they make because they have been “taxed enough already”. I choose to believe that the IRS and most of the federal service is essential for the very existence of our nation. Wipe out the federal government and so goes the rest of the republic. Maybe I am naive–but that’s fine with me.

Leave a Reply

