I want to be a Fed – An Inspiration

In the middle of the night I was inspired to write this poem from the perspective of a young person stepping out into the great working world.  This is a person who truly understands the importance of federal service and actively seeks to become one.  Bare with me as I present to you my poetic words.  I believe civil service is an honorable profession.  I hope others will believe as I do.  Don’t laugh.  Just enjoy and appreciate my efforts.

I Want to Be a Fed     by dj

There are many jobs for which I could apply

There are many careers I could seek

But there are none that entice and challenge me

Than the career of becoming a fed

There are many ways to contribute to society from the start

Many ways to help save the world

But there is no more honorable way to really do my part

Than the career of becoming a fed

Feds make sure our food is safe and nutritious

Feds make sure our buildings are sound

Feds ensure our roads and bridges are safe and well made

Feds support research on disease and unknowns

Feds even conduct their own research

That’s a wonderful thing that I like the best

I know this can sound really annoying

I understand that you might think this is not true

But I know some extraordinary feds

Who do the things that I really want to do

There are many ways to contribute to society from the start

Many ways to help save the world

But there is no more honorable way to really do my part

Than the career of becoming a fed

About djaubey

I am a proud thirty-year federal employee and civil servant. Now retired. As a creative writer (both traditional and innovative), I provide a fresh perspective with a sound foundation in all my work. I am a researcher, writer and speaker with a love of the written word and in search of the truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

