What’s Happening Now?

1.  Debt ceiling debate – I wait for the return of the time when Congress and the White House agreed (grudgingly) on a federal budget in a reasonable amount of time.  I also wait for the return of the time when the debt ceiling was raised quietly and quickly.

Paying our debts was in times past a given and not a negotiating point.  I guess this means I served as a federal employee/civil servant for so many years that I remember when the balance of powers worked regardless of the party in charge at the time (Republican or Democrat).  Our leaders knew what was negotiable and what wasn’t.

2.  Robert J. Samuelson wrote an opinion piece in Monday, February 10, 2014 Washington Post on “The end of government.”  If you did not read this article, I suggest you check it out.  Basically he says that the U.S. is spending more but getting less  return on investment because of a couple of factors – aging population and higher health spending.

He states that because of these factors, the government has fewer and fewer resources to deal with other national problems and priorities.  I don’t necessarily disagree.  However, I do believe that in light of this issue, our leaders should consider focused government investments instead of letting everything else go.

This is why we vote and send our leaders to Congress and the White House.  They are supposed to have a handle on these issues and engage in productive debate to establish a multi-year vision for our nation.

Oops, I used the phrase ‘supposed to.’  I also used the phrase ‘multi-year vision.’  This can only happen if our leaders start thinking of the issues of the people of our great nation instead focusing all their energy on the next election.

My thoughts.  What do you think?

About djaubey

I am a proud thirty-year federal employee and civil servant. Now retired. As a creative writer (both traditional and innovative), I provide a fresh perspective with a sound foundation in all my work. I am a researcher, writer and speaker with a love of the written word and in search of the truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

