Another retirement luncheon

I went to another retirement luncheon.  This one for a long time colleague.  At lunch we all talk about who has retired over the past year.  I am amazed at the number of my colleagues who recently decided to end their federal service.  

Many did not want the usual formal celebration with tokens of thank you’s from one and all.  This is hard for me because I did not get a chance to say that I enjoyed working with them.  That I will miss them.  

On the next retirement, folks should consider their colleagues, not leadership, who may want to see them one more time to wish them well.  I believe this is important and symbolizes a fitting end to any career.  

We also talked about the ones who will be retiring by year-end or early next year.  I ask who will replace them.  What will happen with their duties.  Answers  to these questions are currently unknown or the response is slow and uncertain.   

Some of those attending the event remain tentative and uncertain about what will happen next.  Even with that, I listen to colleagues debate the intricacies of the mission of their various organizations.  They still defend and serve despite the lack of pay raises, cost of living increases and performance awards.

 

About djaubey

I am a proud thirty-year federal employee and civil servant. Now retired. As a creative writer (both traditional and innovative), I provide a fresh perspective with a sound foundation in all my work. I am a researcher, writer and speaker with a love of the written word and in search of the truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

